Starting this out…

How ironic that I’d start a virtual site, from a undisclosed location (so virtually) with virtually nothing to start the site with.  I guess I could give a background of myself.  Currently I am a virtual engineer for a fairly small shop with large ambitions… hence, high end hardware.  I am working with 4 UCS chassis with a total of 10xB200M3s and 8xB250M2s… I also have 4 R910s and a 5 EqualLogics, clustered, that I run VDI from.  I manage around 180 virtual servers and 250 vdi desktops.  We use unidesk for our VDI environment… which adds a great deal of flexibility with only minor quirkiness.  Overall, the gain far out ways the small issues here and there.

I currently work in vSphere 5.5/View 5.2.  I will be using this site as a posting of stuff I learn.  I find it hard to gather material and like all good admins I am constantly studying.  Just like all good admins I am very lazy and have no time.  I could give a background of my family life but I won’t bore you with that.  Just know I have kids and a wife and a mortgage… nuff said.

My lab consists of a PC running workstation 8.  Lots of memory and running the VMs from an SSD.  I’ll go into more details of my setup and things I am doing in later posts.

Pic of TechGuyJames

For more background or to link to me… check out my linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/techguyjames

I’d love to connect… understand what you are doing and how we can learn from each other.  Keep strong on the knowledge hunt!
James

I am a Virtualization Engineer for a county agency in LA area. My environment consists of Cisco UCS, EMC, Cisco Nexus, Dell EqualLogic, Dell Rack Servers, and other various Cisco switches. I have a home lab where I run various rigs depending on what I am studying. I my personal life I am a proud father of 2 boys and a Girl. I am happily married and live in a cozy house in the Inland Empire (California). My commute is rough, but atleast I'm working... right? :-)

Tagged with: ,
Posted in About Me, Welcome

Leave a comment